24th Annual Salute to Excellence

Anticipation of the 24th annual Salute to Excellence dinner began earlier that day with the public announcement of the largest gift in MCC Foundation history, $2.25 million, to establish the Wentworth Family Scholarship. Momentum culminated in the awarding of the Salute to Excellence to alumni Robin ’80 and Timothy ’80 Wentworth for their outstanding leadership and philanthropy.

Under the direction of Honorary Event Chair John T. Smith ’71 and Committee Chair Essie Calhoun-McDavid, the celebration of alumni success and leadership attracted nearly 500 guests to the Rochester Riverside Convention Center in November 2013. 

Guests browsed a stunning display of glass pumpkins donated by Arc + Flame founder Michael Krupnicki ’85, adding $7,500 to event results. Overall, the event raised $53,000 (net) for student scholarships and program innovation at MCC. 

Command Sergeant Major Victor A. Gomez ’90, Anita L. Pelletier ’88, Eric M. Smith ’84 and Kevin T. Stickles ’88 were inducted into the MCC Alumni Hall of Fame for the unique ways each gives back to their professions and the community. Guests enjoyed selections by the MCC Student Jazz Ensemble, under the direction of MCC Associate Professor John Nyerges, and a performance by Electro Hip Hop Violinist SVET, an alumnus from the MCC Class of 2007.

Democrat and Chronicle
Dixon Schwabl
The Iberdrola USA Foundation, Inc.

Cannon Industries, Inc.
Corning Incorporated
The DiMarco Group LLC
Excellus BlueCross BlueShield
M&T Bank
Woods Oviatt Gilman LLP

Brite Computers
Clark Patterson Lee
Jane & Zeke Duda
Thomas & Kate Flynn
Frontier Communications
Isaac Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.
Konar Properties
LaBella Associates, P.C.
Lori Van Dusen and LVW Advisors
M/E Engineering, P.C.
Michael & Eloise Myers
Paychex, Inc.
Rochester Gas & Electric Corporation
Rochester Institute of Technology
Rochester Riverside Convention Center
Andrew “AJ” Sperr Endowed Memorial Scholarship
Stefan Sydor Optics, Inc.

Essie Calhoun-McDavid & Bernard McDavid
Canandaigua National Bank & Trust
CSEA Unit 7402
Davie Kaplan, CPA, P.C.
EFP Rotenberg
ESM Associates/Bernice E. Hatch
LeChase Construction Services LLC
Anita L. ’88 & Philip J. ’88 Pelletier 
Roberts Wesleyan College
Rochester Business Alliance
Janice & Eric ’84 Smith
The Pike Company
Universal Photonics, Inc.
Wegmans Food Markets
Tim ’80 & Robin ’80 Wentworth

The Bonadio Group
Crowley Webb
David & Maryann Fish
Beverly A. French
Cynthia & Wayne Gilman
Hernandez Technologies, Inc.
Hunt Engineers, Architects & Land Surveyors, P.C.
Jill M. Cicero & Paul D. MacAulay
Monroe Community College Association
Professor Karen L. Morris
O’Flynn Campaign Fund
Passero Associates
Lee J. Patterson ’70 & Ellen M. MacLeod
Popli Design Group
Roberts Communications, Inc.
Ted Scardino ’84
Diane L. Shoger & Timothy M. Coughlin
Patricia A. Stevens ’68
SWBR Architects
Grace Tillinghast
Trevett Cristo Salzer & Andolina, P.C.

David & Marcia Gann
James Hart
John M. Kavanaugh ’72
George C. Mastrodonato
Optimax Systems, Inc.
William D. Sigismond
Hezekiah N. Simmons

CMI Communications
Democrat & Chronicle
Dixon Schwabl
Marketview Liquor
Restaurant 2 Vine
Rochester Arc + Flame Center
Rochester Riverside Convention Center


MCC Foundation supporters helped take Scholars’ Day at MCC to the next level in 2014, benefiting from special giving opportunities that promoted scholarly achievement and science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education.

Scholars’ Day is MCC’s annual two-day academic showcase that features student and faculty research. It has grown from a small group of 25 participating students to more than 50 presentations by nearly 100 students and 25 faculty sponsors. A poster session offers students an additional way to exhibit their research on topics ranging from biochemistry to robotic fire-fighting. 

Scholars’ Day 2014 culminated with a keynote address by Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson, astrophysicist and Frederick P. Rose director of the Hayden Planetarium at the American Museum of Natural History. L- Communications served as presenting sponsor, a first in MCC Foundation history. The Xerox Foundation, a primary partner in STEM education at MCC, also helped make Dr. Tyson’s presence on campus possible for this year’s Scholars’ Day.

Jack and Lisa Baron, along with John and Barbara Lovenheim, co-chaired the Foundation’s Scholars’ Day committee. Unrestricted scholarships, of up to $1,000 were awarded to top student presenters. Scholarships were funded through generous donations by the following:

Jack & Lisa Baron, co-chairs
John & Barbara Lovenheim, co-chairs
L- Communications
CMI Communications
Friends & Foundation of the Rochester Public Library
MCC Association, Inc.
Spatola’s Party Rental
The Idea Works of NY, Inc.
Xerox Foundation

30th Annual Scholarship Open

Competitive but friendly was once again the tone of the Foundation’s 30th Annual Scholarship Open in June 2014 at the Country Club of Rochester. Fritz Odenbach and Jay Popli chaired the event that raised $116,000 for scholarships—matching last year’s net total. 

This year’s tournament winners were the CloudDOCX team of Tom Flynn, John Smith, Justin Smith and Pete Spina, capturing the low-gross trophy with a score of 61. The Harter Secrest & Emery team of Peter Abdella, Matthew Mullard, Mary Beth Rumble and Kimberly Shimomura were the low-net winners with a score of 54.2.

MCC alumna Anita Lenear ’14 shared her perspective on the importance of scholarships for deserving students. Her story of relying on scholarship support to change her life and earn her associate in science degree in criminal justice and transfering to Keuka College inspired a scholarship call that raised $34,000! The scholarship call was facilitated by Phil Yawman, a member of the MCC Foundation Board of Directors.

Scholarships have made my dreams possible … thanks to someone like you!
— Anita Lenear ’14, Criminal Justice major

Cannon Industries, Inc.
The DiMarco Group LLC/ADMAR Supply

Brite Computers/CloudDOCX
C&S Companies
M/E Engineering, P.C.
M&T Bank
Manning Squires Hennig Co.
Popli Design Group

Brown & Brown of New York, Inc.

G & J Contracting, Inc.

LeChase Construction Services LLC
O’Connell Electric Co.

Valley Cadillac Corporation

The Bonadio Group
CMI Communications
Crosby-Brownlie, Inc.
The Dolomite Group
Five Star Bank
Gallina Development Corp.
Harter Secrest & Emery LLP
International Union BAC Local 3 NY
LaBella Associates, P.C.
The Pike Company
Siemens Industries, Inc.
Sodexo, Inc. & Affiliates
SWBR Architects/Parrone Engineering

Frontier Communications
Hewitt Young Electric
Klein Reinforcing Services
MWI, Inc.
Schuler-Haas Electric Corp.
Tele Data Com, Inc.
Woods Oviatt Gilman LLP

Bergmann Associates
Canandaigua National Bank & Trust
Conviber, Inc.
EFP Rotenberg
Hernandez Technologies, Inc.
Russell P. LeFrois Builder, Inc.
LoMonaco Associates
Rochester Automobile Dealers Association

Brite Computers
Comella Orthodontics, PLLC
DePrez Travel
Pepsico Food Service
Pepsico Warehouse Sales East Division
Sodexo, Inc. & Affiliates

Daniel J. Burns
Al Casey
Christa Construction LLC
City Grill
The Country Club of Rochester
DiMarco Constructors LLC
Dixon Schwabl
The Dolomite Group
Elmer W. Davis, Inc.
Flower City Management & Development
Greystone Country Club
Mary Ellen Brothers Guon
JQ Cigar Hut
J.W. Marriott Desert Ridge
Lucas Greenhouses
Marlin Brothers LLC
MCC Association
MCC Bookstore
M/E Engineering, P.C.
Popli Design Group
Rochester Americans
Seneca Data Distrubutors, Inc.
Diane L. Shoger & Timothy M. Coughlin 
Gary ’76 & Catherine Squires
T Bones Steakhouse
Valley Cadillac Corporation
Wegmans Food Markets